• Wednesday, August 16, 2017 2:47 PM | Anonymous

    Two local software developers involved with Women in Technology Wisconsin are taking leadership roles in the local Technology Education and Literacy in Schools (TEALS) movement. Erin Draheim, Skyline Technologies, and Nicolette Spear, Jewelers Mutual Insurance Company, have applied and have been accepted to bring technology education  to New London and Hortonville schools.

    TEALS, a program created by Microsoft, helps high schools build and grow sustainable computer science programs through partnerships between classroom teachers and tech industry volunteers. They work as a team to deliver CS education to students who would otherwise not have the opportunity to learn CS in their school. TEALS has two standard course offerings: Introduction to Computer Science and  AP Computer Science A (AP CS A).

    Currently, there are 9 schools in Northeast Wisconsin participating in the TEALS program: Appleton West, Appleton East, Appleton North, Kimberly, New London, Green Bay Preble, Pulaski, Denmark and Hortonville. Draheim will be volunteering at Hortonville High School teaching the AP Computer Science class. Spears will be volunteering at New London Middle School teaching the Introduction to Computer Science. Each participating school requires three volunteers with a background in computer science.

    TEALS is leading the charge of closing the computer science gap. In the U.S., there will be 1.4 million CS-related jobs by 2020, yet U.S. college graduates are expected to fill less than a third of those jobs.

    Draheim states, “By increasing access for youth in Northeast Wisconsin to experience computer science, we will give them the opportunity to become creators of technology and the world’s future innovators.”

    About TEALS:  TEALS was started in 2009 by Microsoft employee Kevin Wang, who developed and ran the program in his spare time, and is supported by Microsoft Philanthropies. Since its founding, TEALS has helped over 6,000 students and hundreds of teachers succeed in AP CS A. In 2015, per end-of-class surveys, 95% of students saw improvement in their programming skills, 87% of students mentioned the volunteers were helpful in learning computer science, and students averaged scores 1 standard deviation above the national average. In 2016, more than 57,000 students took the AP CS A exam and only 10 students earned a perfect score. One of those perfect scores was earned by a TEALS student.

    Resources:  Becoming a TEALS Volunteer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UNyjBvjbXP0

  • Tuesday, August 01, 2017 7:04 PM | Anonymous

    Women in Technology Wisconsin (WIT) has announced the winners of two newly created awards:  President’s Award, and Impact Awards for their 2017-2018 season. The non-profit organization, founded in 2014, focuses on advancing women in technology careers. Their involvement reaches over 16 counties in Northeast Wisconsin and has impacted over 4500 students.

    President’s Award recognizes WIT Members for Outstanding Community Leadership in Northeast Wisconsin.

    The President’s Award Winners

    Erin Draheim, Sr. Software Engineer, Skyline Technologies

    Erin is a founding board member. We have talked to her numerous times about being on the board, but she said all that strategy stuff is not for her. She would rather just help. Well, she does more than just help. She is a driving force of WIT4Girls, helping develope the WIT4Girls lesson plans.. She has taught Girls Who Code Club at Hortonville School District for 2 years. She has reached over 35 girls with this program. She teaches at the FVTC Girls Camp and active in various regional Career Fairs promoting girls in technology. She is a great role model for girls that are interested in learning technology. Skyline Technologies recognized her for her involvement with WIT Wisconsin.

    Kim Iversen, Director, NEW IT  Alliance

    Kim found her passion early on as she committed to being the Co-Chair for WIT4Girls. As a mother of girls, she quickly found that her true mission was to encourage girls to discover technology. She followed her passion and became the Director of the newly formed NEW IT Alliance in Northeast Wisconsin. She is currently leading many technology efforts in our region. Here leadership is being recognized by the top leaders in the state.

    Prachi Khare, Student, Fox Valley Technical College

    She is a great role model for students. She has been at various WIT Events always willing to participate and meet professional women. She also participated in JJ Kellers Give Camp. She is an active member of the WITonCampus Professional Connection. Her willingness to learn from others and meet professionals from various companies is amazing.

    Impact Award recognizes WIT Members as Outstanding Community Volunteers. These members have volunteered over 40 hours.

    Impact Award Winners

    Amy Roffers, Client Systems Analyst, US Venture Inc.

    Erin Draheim, Sr. Software Developer, Skyline Technologies

    Kathi Bellotti, Sr. Information Security Analyst, US Venture Inc.

    Kim Iversen, Director, NEW IT Alliance

    Patricia Curry, Software Developer, Concurrency

    Rachel Rosenberg, Office Coordinator, Pieper Electric Inc.

    Vicki Leinbach, Chief Information Officer, Ariens Company

  • Tuesday, August 01, 2017 7:01 PM | Anonymous

    Women in Technology Wisconsin (WIT) has announced their Board of Directors for their 2017-2018 season. The non-profit organization, founded in 2014, focuses on advancing women in technology careers. Their involvement reaches over 16 counties in Northeast Wisconsin and has impacted over 4500 students.


    President – Michelle Schuler, Community Engagement Manager, Microsoft Corporation

    President Elect –  Adrienne Hartman, Director of E-Commerce & Inbound Sales, J. J. Keller & Associates

    Treasurer – Mary Genrich, Sr. Manager - Midrange Services, Kimberly Clark Corporation

    Secretary  – Diane Doersch, Chief Technology Officer, Green Bay Area Public School District

    Board Members

    Programs Chair  – Sara Bernard,  Lead IT Business Analyst, Oshkosh Corporation

    Marketing Chair – Danica Killam, Manager Application Services, Jewelers Mutual Insurance Company

    Membership Chair – Jes Borland, SQL Server Premier Field Engineer, Microsoft Corporation

    WIT@Work Chair – Briana Rygg, Director IT, Ascension Information Services

    WITonCampus Chair – Monika Heninger, Continuous Automation Tools Engineer, Thrivent Financial

    WIT4Girls Chair – Kim Iversen, Director, NEW IT Alliance

© Copyright 2017. All rights reserved.

Women In Technology Wisconsin Inc. is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software